Pumpkin soup

I have to admit it is not a pumpkin season this time of year here in Croatia, even though you can find butternut in every supermarket or the organic farmer’s market nowadays all year round. Pumpkin is a vegetable I love using in my kitchen, and it wasn’t something you could find on my family’s menu while I was a kid, actually I insisted on using it and trying out new recipes.

My first pumpkin recipe was a pumpkin pie. I didn’t believe a pie using a pumpkin could turn out as delicious as a strawberry or blueberry pie people usually adore, so I had to try it out. The recipe for this pie involved bananas which really gave that tasty sweet flavour that made this pie as delicious as it was. Just so you can check it out here’s the link and a photo of it – Pumpkin banana pie

Pumpkin banana pie

After trying out a tasty dessert as the one I just mentioned I had to see can there be any other delicious desserts using pumpkin. My favourite cake is cheesecake, so I had to see if there was any version of a pumpkin cheesecake that would work for me, and I found and perfected my recipe for a Pumpkin cheesecakeĀ which is also posted here.

pumpkin-cheesecake

Pumpkin is an amazing ingredient which should be used all year round, it has so many uses in desserts, main dishes, side dishes, soups and even drinks. This recipe for a Pumpkin soup is easy to make, delicious and it takes 20 min or so to make it. Try it out and tell me how it turned out for you!

Enjoy & follow me on Facebook – Recipes by chefkreso


Preparation: 15 min

Cook time: 25 min

Servings: 6


Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 parsley root, chopped
  • 1 kg butternut pumpkin, peeled & sliced
  • 600 ml vegetable stock
  • 100 ml heavy cream or cooking cream
  • 2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp chili pepper
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Pumpkin soup

How to

  1. Heat olive oil in a large sauce pan over medium heat. Add chopped onion, garlic and parsley root and let it simmer until soft, for about 3 – 5 min.
  2. Steam sliced butternut pumpkin for a few min until soft but still crisp. Add steamed pumpkin to the sauce pan with onion, garlic and parsley root. Cook for 10 min occasionally stirring.
  3. Pour vegetable stock to the pumpkin and vegetables and cook. Season with salt, pepper, chili pepper, nutmeg and bring to a boil. Cook over medium heat for next 15 min until pumpkin is soft.
  4. Stir in heavy cream and bring to a boil. Finish the soup by pureeing it with a hand blender.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks good. will try it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you, hope you’ll like it!

      Like

  2. Lexie says:

    I love pumpkin and we still have 3 weeks of winter left in this part of the world, so it’s just what I need when it’s cold outside! Thanks for posting this recipe! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you for checking out my recipe and hope you’ll like it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Vanitha says:

    I have been meaning to try pumpkin soup for a long time. Your awesome share has inspired to get on it ASAP šŸ™‚ Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you and hope you’ll like the Pumpkin soup šŸ˜€

      Like

  4. sbaskitchen says:

    I love pumpkin soup, in fact that was what we had for our evening meal last night – I added some chestnuts that I had frozen during the autumn – the weather here is cold and bleak, and soup is so comforting and warming. I must give your recipe a go.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Sounds so tasty and delicious, I love pumpkin soup, and hope you’ll like my recipe!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I want some super good

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jyo says:

    Very pleasing to palate !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

