Potato casserole

on

Everyone had that moment when they opened their fridge and started staring at it like it’s the TV wondering what to make for lunch or dinner. I’ve had the same thing happen to me a number of times and every single time a delicious dish came out of it. I just used the ingredients I had in the fridge to make something delicious, no muss, no fuss. It just reminded me how we always try to find a new recipe, a new dish that has some exotic ingredients forgetting that we have a fridge full of delicious fruit and vegetables just waiting to be tossed on the grill, or sliced in a fresh spring salad.

The funny thing about this recipe is how my grandma used to make it, actually very often, my mum still makes it every now and then and even my father knows how to prepare it even though he isn’t much of a cook. The point is that this recipe is easy to prepare and you probably have all the ingredients in your fridge right now. Sometimes you just have to cook simple dishes so you can appreciate the difficult recipes when you see them.

Enjoy & happy cooking!


Preparation: 25 min

Cook time: 35 min

Servings: 4


Ingredients

  • 650 g potatoes
  • 300 g eggs
  • 3 Bratwurst sausages, cooked and sliced
  • batch of fresh shallot, chopped
  • 200 g Edam cheese, grated
  • 300 ml cooking cream
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 100 g butter
  • salt & pepper to taste

Potato casserole

How to

  1. In a large pot cook the unpeeled potatoes in water for about 20 min until cooked all the way through. Remove from water, peel the potatoes and slice them.
  2. In a second pot, smaller than the first one, cook the eggs until well done. Remove from heat, let them cool for a bit, next peel them and slice them.
  3. Preheat the oven to 200° C. Butter a large square baking tray.
  4. Pour the cooking cream in a bowl and stir in salt, pepper, pressed garlic and shallot.
  5. Place 1/2 of the sliced potatoes in a buttered up baking tray as the first layer of the casserole. Next place 1/2 of the eggs and on top of them 1/2 of sliced sausages. Pour one half of the cooking cream over the first three layers than repeat the process for the next three layers. After pouring the second half of seasoned cooking cream, top the casserole with grated Edam cheese.
  6. Bake in a preheated oven for about 30 – 35 min until you get a crispy golden cheese crust.
12 Comments Add yours

  1. littlelilly says:

    I exactly had the same feeling around lunchtime today – staring at my fridge and wondering what to cook. And oh by the way, the potato casserole looks so delicious. Thanks for the recipe. Bookmarked and I’ll try it tomorrow. Have a nice evening from this side of the world @chefkreso. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. chefkreso says:

      Hi! Thank you very much for your kind words, hope you’ll like the recipe it is a simple one but very tasty! Have a great week from this side of the world 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Maria H. says:

    That looks really good. I’m wondering though what cooking cream is? My mom used to do “fried potatoes” with eggs potatoes and whatever meat was left over from the day before. She cooked it all in the frying pan, but this reminds me of that. (: Also, thank you for stopping by my food/book blog yesterday!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Hi! Thank you very much for stopping by and glad to read your comment. Here in Croatia we actually have cooking cream in our stores, it is different than whipped cream since you can’t get whipped cream by whipping it but it’s thick and great for making sauces 🙂 I really liked your blog and love the idea of reusing leftover meat!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Loretta says:

    A good wholesome meal right there. Love all the ingredients. I stare at my pantry all the time too, as I buy too much and always promise myself that I’d get through everything before I buy anything new… but it never happens 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you very much! I know what you mean since I have friends who do just the same 🙂

      Like

  4. Andrea says:

    I know that feeling… made something very similar the other day, but with onions and cooked ham instead of eggs and sausage.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Hi! Thanks for stopping by and casseroles are just that, using what ever you have in the fridge and combining flavours in a hot tasty dish! 🙂

      Like

  5. petra08 says:

    I find myself in the same situation very often, staring at ingredients ending taking some out to combine to a surprise dish. However I am not sure they often turn out looking as fantastic as this casserole! Delicious 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you very much, I’m so happy after reading your nice comment 😊 it’s all about the flavour and then the looks when I think about it 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonton Woman says:

    This looks like it will be my new fav comfort food!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you very much! I hope you’ll like the flavour 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

