Steak & green bean salad

Green beans, since I was a kid, we’ve eaten them in stews most of the time. My mother prepared them regularly every two weeks and I wasn’t a big fan, I didn’t even like it when my grandma made them but I always remember breaking green beans in half with her. She would buy a whole bag of them, we would come over for the weekend and so we cleaned the beans for dinner, and I have to admit I liked it more than actually eating them. Over the years I grew up to appreciate stews, especially green bean stew and how it’s really a nice break from eating so much grilled and fried food. Nowadays I prepare more stews than I had the chance to eat as a kid, but the real surprise was when I first made this green bean salad which we didn’t make at home while growing up. As we are a big salad family, this became one of my favourite side dishes, not only is it fresh and healthy it is so delicious.

This dish is a real on-the-move lunch idea, it really doesn’t take much to have a nice lunch or dinner. The green bean salad as mentioned is a great side dish and a break from always eating potatoes or rice or pasta which are the most usual choice. Not mentioning the marinade which is also a new and delicious way to prepare steaks, dark beer really bring out the flavour of the meat and gives it a nice smokey but sweet tone and that’s why I use it in this case rather than light beer. Give yourself a chance to try something new! Enjoy and happy cooking!


Preparation: 15 min

Cook time: 20 min

Servings: 4


Ingredients

  • 4 neck fillet steaks
  • 600 g green beans
  • 3 tbsp dark beer
  • 3 tsp red paprika
  • 2 tsp rosemary
  • 3 tbsp pumpkin oil
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed
  • 3 tbsp aceto balsamico
  • salt & pepper to taste

Steak & green bean salad

How to

  1. Season the steaks with salt, pepper, red paprika, rosemary and dark beer. Let them marinade for 1 h in the fridge.
  2. Wash the green beans and slice them. Cook them in a large pot of water until soft. Let them cool down before seasoning them with pressed garlic, salt, pepper, pumpkin oil and aceto balsamico.
  3. Grill the steaks for a few minutes on each side until well done. Serve with green bean salad and a glass of red wine.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

