Tuna tomato crispy pasta

Today has been a long day, hiking all the way to the top of Sljeme in Zagreb and back, resulting in 22 km walk by foot. It’s not my first time hiking and I really like to go as often as I can with friends. We laugh, we sing, we eat amazing food in one of the B&B along the way, the best thing about it is that they make delicious traditional food our grandmas used to make. This is the first hike this year, and spring is here, I actually got a little sunburned since I didn’t expect it to be so hot, but I don’t mind. I had the best of time, and all that hiking made me hungry and there is nothing better than getting home, preparing some food and finally sitting down to feel tingling in the feet.

This is great dish if you’re in a hurry and you want to make something delicious. I love crispy pasta, it’s not as healthy but I burned a lot of calories today. Crispy pasta topped with tuna and tomato sauce is one of combinations I really like and they go so well together. I urge you to try out the recipe, because I know you’ll really like it, at least I hope. Have a nice day and stay tuned for more recipes!

Preparation: 15 min

Cook time: 25 min

Servings: 2

Ingredients

  • 250 g penne pasta
  • 20 g butter
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 60 g onion, diced
  • 150 g tuna, can
  • 80 g sliced tomatoes
  • 30 g corn, can
  • 4 tbsp capers
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 2 leaves fresh basil
  • salt & pepper to taste

Tuna tomato crispy pasta

How to

  1. In a medium pot cook penne pasta in a slightly salted water until al dente.
  2. In a small sauce pan heat olive oil over medium heat. Reduce the heat and place diced onion and let it simmer. Add diced sliced tomatoes, corn, salt, pepper and oregano. After a few minutes add tuna and capers and let it simmer for a few more min. Finish by adding two leaves of fresh basil.
  3. Melt butter in a medium pan and add cooked penne pasta. Simmer until crispy and light brown. Serve crispy pasta topped with tuna sauce.
15 Comments Add yours

  1. I love crispy pasta and sometimes make a frittata with it. Your sauce sounds fabulous. Definitely my kind of dish! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks very much, happy that you liked my post πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth says:

    That sounds wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the flavours, Kreso. And yum, yum, yum to crispy pasta!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks Tracey, glad you like it πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Jamchop says:

    Pasta looks great, bet it tasted great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks and yeah it was awesome, love how it’s crispy πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jamchop says:

        Well done πŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Lan says:

    This is yummmm!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Your blog makes me so hungry! 😯😍😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  7. spicenpepper says:

    yeaay I have a canned tuna n was thinking wat to make now m gone make this… 😎😎😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Hope you’ll like it, do tell me how it turns out πŸ™‚ and thank you very much for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

