Vanilla, chocolate & strawberry cake

Today I was on a run, the first jog in a while just for the beginning of spring. I really try to exercise as much as I can and I live near one of the most beautiful parks in Zagreb, so the best way to do so is to go on a jog. For my first jog I ran 6,5 km in about 30 min – I know it’s not that fascinating, but for me it was a good run. When I finished I already knew my muscles were going to be sore and I was going to regret it. So now I can barely walk but it’s worth it, better it hurts today than tomorrow when I go jogging again. But I love the feeling, I trained swimming and fin swimming for 13 years so it’s all familiar to me and since I stopped training going to the gym or jogging is important for me to stay fit and healthy. With all that there are always recommended diets and certain things you should avoid, but I think the best way to stay healthy is not to overeat and to eat regularly diverse dishes consisting of fresh fruit and vegetables.

Desserts like cakes or pies are my favorite recipes and I always have a lot of fun preparing them. In the end it all comes down to one piece of cake that I get for myself because I share the rest with friends and family. There have even been cakes that I didn’t even get the chance to try because my family ate it. But I don’t mind, as long as they’re happy, I’m happy – I can always make another cake.

This cake I prepared one day for the first time before my friends came over to watch Game of Thrones. I’m a big fan of the show and really enjoy watching it with friends, and if there’s a cake, that’s even better! This cake isn’t just for all of you GOT fans, but for everyone because it combines the three perfect ingredients – chocolate, vanilla and strawberries and who doesn’t love that combination?

 

Preparation: 25 min

Cook time: 25 min

Servings: 6

Ingredients

  • 250 all-purpose flour
  • 50 g sugar
  • 1,5 dl vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3 tbsp Nutella
  • 2 dl yogurt
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 250 g butter
  • 60 g powdered sugar
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 150 g forest strawberries
  • strawberries, sliced

Vanilla chocolate strawberry cake

How to

  1. Preheat the oven to 180Β° C. Butter a square cake pan and sprinkle some bread crumbs.
  2. In a large bowl mix together eggs with sugar. Gradually pour in oil while mixing. Sift together baking powder and flour and then add it to the mixture little by little and mix until well combined. Add yogurt to the mixture and when combined divide in half.
  3. Stir in Nutella and cocoa in one half of the mixture and add 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract to the other half.
  4. Pour the vanilla mixture into the cake tray, than pour the chocolate mixture. Place strawberries randomly over the mixture.
  5. Bake in a preheated oven for about 20 min. Use a wooden pick to check if it’s done.
  6. In a medium bowl mix together powdered sugar and butter. Add tablespoons of milk and teaspoons of vanilla extract one by one until well combined. Spread the buttercream over the cake.
  7. Decorate the cake with sliced strawberries.
46 Comments Add yours

  1. Megala says:

    Lovely succulent cake!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks 😁

      Like

  2. I know this may sound strange, but I love that ‘sore’ ‘stiff’ feeling after exercising, it means I have done something! Usually initially for me if I have worked really hard, the second day is the worst, but whatever, it is cool…
    Now, as for this cake…Yum !!! I would have to do double exercise, because one slice would not be enough. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      I agree with everything you said about exercise! And the cake really is delicious, why not triple the exercise 😁 thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Growing Self says:

    Sounds delicious!πŸ’š

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you 😊

      Like

  4. The cake looks delicious πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This looks too amazing yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  6. What a beautiful cake! Lucky you who lives in Zagred πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you 😁

      Like

  7. Yummy moist cake. I go walking and am not able to run continuously. So am training myself for that. Glad you could run continuously.
    Meena.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks for stopping by and the cake is really yummy 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Totally agree, Kreso. Vanilla, chocolate and strawberries are a fantastic trio. By the way, I nominated you for the Real Neat Blog Award. No pressure – I know there isn’t always time to accept awards but I do love your blog. Here’s the link: https://traceyobrienblog.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you so much, I’ll have to grab a chance to thank you and post the nomination 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  9. This looks finger licking. Will try out soon πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you! Hope you’ll like it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  10. You had me at Nutella πŸ™‚ This looks delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Everyone loves Nutella 😁 thank you so much!

      Like

  11. Gabriella says:

    Looks super tasty πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks πŸ˜€

      Like

  12. elliebleu says:

    The cake looks delicious! I’m trying to get back into the swing of running too now that the weather is better. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you! 😁

      Like

  13. Lovely cake! I wish I could eat it. :3
    I have to buy some strawberries. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you! And you should buy some, the strawberry season is here 😁

      Like

  14. This cake looks so delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  15. This is gorgeous, Chef! Simple ingredients too! Love this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you very much 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  16. evgeniayums says:

    Mmmmm it looks delish!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you πŸ˜„

      Like

  17. WuaoooooπŸ˜‹I’ am dreaming of eating your fantastic cake. .. if only I clouse my eyes everything is possible Dear friend🌹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you so much! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I love your attitude to exercise and food – I totally agree that eating a good variety and not denying yourself is a good thing. This cake looks incredible too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks for stopping by and glad that we think alike πŸ˜€

      Like

  19. Mouthwatering ..I would love to have one piece …πŸ˜‹

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you very much 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  20. home&run says:

    😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks! 😁

      Like

  21. Hamdzinski says:

    I will try it and let you know:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks, any feedback would be wonderful πŸ™‚

      Like

  22. Piyali says:

    Thanks for stopping by, because of your comment on my blog, I could come to your page and see all these delicious recipes…gonna try this one soon and will let you know :)…Thanks and do visit again πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you also so much for visiting my blog, hope you’ll come back soon πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

