Tiramisu

Tiramisu is one of my favorite cakes. It originates from Italy and I can’t count the times I have visited Italy. During my high school I trained competitive swimming and traveled every now and then to compete in Italy, but competitions weren’t the only reason why I traveled there. As a tourist I visited Venice a couple of times, Verona of course and Gardaland – this amazing adventure park near lake Garda. As there are beautiful places and cities with amazing history all over Italy, their food is just amazing – from pasta to desserts.

This isn’t a traditional Tiramisu recipe, but it’s a delicious one. Italian ladyfingers dipped in brewed espresso and  covered with Mascarpone cream. I hope you’ll feel like sitting in a small cafe in Italy, sun in your eyes, taking a bite out of a Tiramisu and drinking freshly brewed espresso.

Enjoy!

Preparation: 30 min                                  Cook time: 0 min                                  Servings: 8

Ingredients

  • 500 ml dark coffee / brewed espresso
  • 6 tbsp sugar
  • 500 g Mascarpone cheese
  • 4 eggs
  • 300 g Italian ladyfingers
  • cocoa powder

tiramisu

How to

  1. In a large bowl mix together 4 egg yolks with sugar. Add Mascarpone cheese and stir well. In a second bowl beat 4 egg whites until stiff. Manually stir in egg whites in the Mascarpone mixture.
  2. Dip the Italian ladyfingers in brewed espresso and place them in serving bowls. Pour the Mascarpone mixture over ladyfingers and finish the dessert by decorating it with cocoa powder.
17 Comments Add yours

  1. I love tiramisu. Thanks for sharing this wonderful introduction and recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lulu says:

    I am always willing to try a new take on tiramisu as it is not always my favorite dessert.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. callmetrav says:

    I love tiramisu and your recipe sounds. delicious .

    Like

  4. munchkinontheroad says:

    Reblogged this on On the Road Cooking and commented:
    Tiramisu for all your dinner guests.
    Check out all Chef Kreso’s blog for plated food photography as sumptuous as his recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loaflusters says:

    Honestly Tiramisu is one of my favorite desserts. So intricate in tasting and yet such a simple dessert. Great recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thank you, I know what you mean, I love Tiramisu!

      Like

  6. loaflusters says:

    Would really appreciate it if you could check out my blog. It’s only 2days old so please be gentle xx http://loaflusters.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. chefkreso says:

      No problem, I have my blog online for about 1 month so I know what it’s like when you start posting 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

