Broccoli cream soup

I love cooking on a rainy day. Usually when it rains I don’t feel like going out and then the inspiration hits. I browse for recipes, checking which ingredients are already in the fridge. Always take a piece of paper and scribble down all the ides that come to mind and it’s always hard to choose just one, so I pick one but schedule other recipes for another day. Well at the moment the list has hundreds of recipes and I try to cook them all but always find new ones that grab my attention. Honestly I hope the list never comes to an end, I crave that inspiration and the ideas that sometimes overflow me, love finding new recipes and even more cooking them.

Nothing is better than a warm bowl of soup on a cold rainy day. I have tried so many different soups, from clear chicken noodle soup my mother makes to cream tomato soup my grandmother used to make. I know many people who don’t like broccoli, as a kid I didn’t either, but growing up and finding new ways to prepare broccoli surprised me how delicious it can be once served.

This broccoli cream soup is delicious and spicy, just for a cold rainy November day. Enjoy!

Preparation: 15 min                                  Cook time: 25 min                                  Servings: 4

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 0,5 l chicken broth
  • 1 kg broccoli, chopped
  • 300 ml cooking cream
  • 100 g carrot, chopped
  • chili pepper, ground
  • salt & pepper to taste

broccoli-cream-soup

How to

  1. Melt butter in a medium sauce pan, add finely chopped onion and simmer until light brown. Add chopped broccoli and carrot, let it simmer for a few minutes. Pour in chicken broth and let it cook for 10 min.
  2. Pour the mixture in a food processor and process until you get a puree. Transfer the soup puree in a cooking pot and stir in cooking cream, salt and pepper. Cook the soup to a boil. Serve seasoned with chili pepper.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Eartha says:

    Live rainy days! Love soup! Recipe looks great.

    Like

    1. chefkreso says:

      Thanks and also thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

